

City of Norman, OK

Municipal Building Council Chambers 201 West Gray Street Norman, OK 73069

Text File

File Number: AP-1213-23

Agenda Date: 5/14/2013 Version: 1 Status: Consent Item

In Control: City Council File Type: Appointment

Agenda Number: 5

Title

APPROVAL OF CONFIRMATION OF NOMINEES TO THE NORMAN YOUTH COUNCIL.

Body

INFORMATION: The Children's Rights Coordinating Commission met with City Council in a conference on January 12, 2010, and recommended that City Council sponsor the creation of a Norman Youth Council. On February 9, 2010, City Council adopted Resolution No. R-0910-92 creating the Norman Youth Council to promote civic engagement among youth, give youth a formal role in local decision-making, and offer real world experiences with elected and advisory bodies. The Children's Rights Coordinating Commission met to review applications for the upcoming year and is recommending the following nominations to the Norman Youth Council: Tanner Calloway, Marita Ellis, Louisa Fulkerson, Jake Gray, Kiana Humphrey, Mckenna Marak, Gavin Nadeau, Kyla Newell, Peyton Powers, Michael Ripperger, Andrea Rodriquez-Sanchez, Zainab Sandhu, Mariah Smith, Julia Weldon, and Justin Wu.